Dorm & Dine

Recipes, tips, and tricks for better cooking on campus

The final page of the cookbook

The end of the semester is fast approaching, and with that comes the completion of this blog. Dorm and Dine started out as a project for my Online Journalism I class, but it grew into a way for me to learn more about what other students are cooking up on campus. I also gained a lot of insight into what I could be doing to improve my own campus culinary technique.

I was able to learn a lot about not only the people I met, but also about the medium I was using to report on what I discovered. I’ll be the first to say it; I’ve never kept a blog in my life. Online media seemed, to me, to be something that was difficult to maintain and edit. Throughout this semester, however, I worked with a wide variety of mediums including video, audio, text, and photos. Learning how to edit was difficult at first, but the quality of the final product was (most of the time) worth the effort.

I’ve loved interviewing students around campus, though I quickly learned that not everyone is willing to stop and chat, and nearly everyone disliked having their picture taken. Overall, what I’ve learned through this blog is that people love food, and sharing recipes and cooking together can make for some new friends and some delicious memories.

I’m excited about a few posts I’ve made this semester. These are some of my favorites:

Leave a Reply

